NFC South: Top 10 teams in division history

1 of 11

Dec 21, 2014; New Orleans, LA, USA; New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (9) talks to Atlanta Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan (2) after their game at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The Falcons won 30-14. Mandatory Credit: Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

The NFC South division was created in 2002 after the NFL expanded to 32 teams and has served as a very good division overall. In fact, it is the only division in football to send all four of its teams to the conference championship game since 2002. Each team has won at least three division titles in that time span, which is the only such division in the league as well.

The division has two Super Bowl winners, Tampa Bay (2002) and the New Orleans Saints (2009). Every team has made a Super Bowl appearance while as a member of the south with the exception of the Atlanta Falcons. The Carolina Panthers became the first team in the division history to win back-to-back division titles and also became the second team in five years to win a division with a losing record.

There has been a lot of great teams in the Divisions short history. Three Super Bowl appearances, numerous NFC championship games and great rivalries. Let’s take a look at the top 10 teams in the history of the NFC South.