Who was the greatest Atlanta Falcons team of all time?

2 of 4

In the first matchup, we have the 2012 Atlanta Falcons, which lost to the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC championship game, against the 2016 “28-3”  Falcons squad.

At this point, the 2012 Matt Ryan is having a career year and the offense is littered with talent. A young Julio Jones, a still productive Roddy White and the greatest tight end of all time Tony Gonzales, who was still proving to the league he still has it.

The 2016 Falcons are led by the MVP version of Matt Ryan with a prime Julio Jones, Mr. Reliable Mohammad Sanu and Devonta Freeman who had a career year.

On defense, the 2012 Falcons picked off the opponent 20 times which is more than once per game. Past his prime John Abraham led the team in sacks showing he could still get after the quarterback

The 2016 Atlanta Falcons defense was young and athletic. Vic Beasley was playing like he was the best defensive player in the league. The other young guns Deion Jones and Keanu Neal combined for 214 tackles and they were laying hats on whoever crossed their path.

Even with the MVP version of Matt Ryan, the Edge goes to the 2012 Falcons. Yes, the 2016 Falcons defense was playing out of this world during the postseason, but they did their part in blowing a 28-3 lead in the playoffs.

The 2012 Falcons offense might have been too much for this young defense plus that team had Michael Turner in the backfield who didn’t have his best season but with someone the size of him running at you, I’m pretty sure that team would have run the ball.

We won’t blame the 2016 team for that crazy catch by Julian Edelman.

WInner: 2012