Atlanta Falcons: Reaction to the All-Decade defense and special teams


It is no secret that 2010-2019 was the most successful decade in the history of the Atlanta Falcons organization.

Never before had the Atlanta Falcons seen as much consistent success as they would see during this decade of football. Overall, the team made it to the Super Bowl, reached two NFC Championship games (winning one in 2016), won three division titles, made it to the playoffs five times, won four playoff games, all the while setting a new standard of Atlanta Falcons football. Sure, not every season went as planned, but it was one hell of a ride.

This week, the Atlanta Falcons released the defensive and special teams All-Decade Selections, honoring the very best that the decade had to offer. The selections were made by members of the national and local media, as well as Atlanta Falcons alumni and staff. The All-Decade Team selections can be found on the Atlanta Falcons website.

The likes of John Abraham, Vic Beasley, Grady Jarrett, Jonathan Babineaux, Deion Jones, Curtis Lofton, Sean Weatherspoon, Desmond Trufant, Robert Alford, William Moore, Ricardo Allen, and Brent Grimes can be found on the list.

All of these men helped lead the Atlanta Falcons through its most successful decade yet and are rightfully honored in doing so. Each player was responsible for helping improve an aspect of the defense during their respective tenure. Even a guy like Beasley, who struggled throughout his time as a Falcon, was a dominant force during the teams Super Bowl run in 2016 and was a huge reason why the team was so successful that year.

This is a great selection of talent and every man mentioned is deserving.

On Special teams, the players selected were Matt Bryant, Matt Bosher, Josh Harris, Devin Hester, and Eric Weems. Again, like the players selected on the defensive side of the ball, these five men were all an important aspect of the team, making for one of the best and most consistent special teams units throughout the decade.

It’s hard to imagine the Atlanta Falcons having the same amount of success without Bryant, who consistently made kick after kick, game-winner after game-winner. The same goes for Bosher, who consistently gave opposing teams average or poor field position, rarely shanking a punt.

Overall, the men selected to be apart of the All-Decade Team are deserving of the honor and deserve to be recognized among the greatest to put ever put on an Atlanta Falcons uniform. Not every guy on this list was consistently great, but what they brought to the team, and the many memorable moments shared is what matters most.

Some of the most memorable moments compiled from this Atlanta Falcons group include:

  • William Moore utilizing a spine buster to take down Rams tight end Mike McNeil in 2013.
  • Robert Alford’s Super Bowl 51 pick-six.
  • Deion Jones denying Cam Newton the pleasure of converting a 2-pt conversion in 2016.
  • Matt Bryant’s game-winning field goal in the 2012 NFC Divisional Round.
  • Grady Jarrett demolishing the Patriots’ offensive line in Super Bowl 51.
  • Vic Beasley destroying Aaron Rodgers on Sunday Night Football in 2017.
  • Devin Hester breaking Deion Sanders record for career touchdown returns as he high stepped his way into the record books in 2014.
  • Matt Bosher leveling Kenjon Barner in 2018, then getting drug tested afterward.

Next. Falcons lack creativity off the field too. dark

These are just some of the many great memories that have been made from this group of Atlanta Falcons greats over the last decade. It was a decade of happiness, sadness, exhilaration, frustration, and everything in-between. Thank you to all the players on this list for making 2010-2019 the most exciting time to be a fan of the Atlanta Falcons.