NFC South: Top 10 teams in division history

8 of 11

4) Atlanta Falcons 2012

Sep 7, 2014; Atlanta, GA, USA; Atlanta Falcons kicker Matt Bryant (3) celebrates the win over the New Orleans Saints after Bryant kicked the 52-yard game-winning field at the Georgia Dome. The Falcons won 37-34 in overtime. Mandatory Credit: Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Without question, the 2012 NFL season was the second best season in Falcons’ history. Atlanta started off the year 8-0 to set a franchise best mark and secured home-field advantage for throughout the playoffs for the second time in three years. Their 13-3 record was good enough to win the franchises’ third NFC South title, and sent five players to the pro bowl including Matt Ryan, Julio Jones and Tony Gonzalez.

Atlanta started off their postseason with a come from behind win at home against the Seattle Seahawks, 30-28. Kicker Matt Bryant nailed a 49-yard field goal to compete the comeback to give the Falcons their first postseason win under Ryan, and their first playoff win since 2004. The Falcons advanced into the NFC Championship game, but lost at home to the San Francisco 49ers in heartbreaking fashion, 28-24. The Falcons blew a 17-0 lead to lose late in the fourth quarter.

Regardless of the outcome, the Falcons were one of if not the best team in the NFL in 2012 and will go down as one of the best seasons in franchise history. The Falcons have not been back to the playoffs since losing this game.